Whole Wheat Banana Bread

whole-wheat-banana-bread-for-web.jpg

This recipe come from The King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook and it’s definitely my favorite banana bread recipe. I never used to use whole wheat wheat flour in quick breads but I think it really adds to the flavor (and nutrition) in this bread. The only changes I make to the original recipe are to occasionally add equal parts wheat germ and applesauce (about 1/4 cup each).  Here is the recipe:

Whole Wheat Banana Bread 

1/2 C. (1 stick) butter
1 C. sugar
2 eggs
1 C. mashed ripe banana (2 or 3 bananas)
1 t. vanilla
2 C. King Arthur Stone Ground Whole Wheat Flour
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1/2 C chopped walnuts (optional, pecans are also good)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar.
  3. Add the eggs, bananas and vanilla (plus applesauce if using) and beat well.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda and salt (plus wheat germ if using).
  5. Stir the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients. At this point, add the chopped nuts if using.
  6. Pour this mixture into a greased, 9×5-inch loaf pan and bake for 60 minutes. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes then take it out and let cool on wire rack.
  7. Enjoy!

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by e-mail

13 Comments »

  1. 1
    gardenpath Says:

    I have that cookbook, and have been to the store in Vermont. Neat place, and lots of cooking gadgets.

  2. 2
    Brady Says:

    Delicious! I added a little flaxseed and some chocolate chips instead of nuts. Very nice. I think the sugar could be decreased a little without hurting the results, but it’s delicious as is.

  3. 3
    Ans Says:

    Thanks for this great post, i have bookmarked your site in the hope there will be more of this

    Greets

    Ans

  4. […] to get through my leftover turkey) courtesy of Simply Recipes (best overall food blog) and the Whole Wheat Banana Bread from Pinch My Salt (best new food blog).  With so many food blogs other there, it's easy […]

  5. 5

    I have been looking for a good whole wheat banana bread recipe for awhile. I love this one! I added a little flaxseed and no nuts and it is still delicious.

  6. 6
    Laura Says:

    This recipe is so wonderful. I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup, added 12 cup of ground flaxseed meal and a half cup of applesauce. I also skipped the nuts (allergies) and added chocolate chips to the mix. They were so moist and so nutritious!! And, my son’s third grade class loved them!!!

  7. 7
    Laura Says:

    oops – That is 1/2 cup of ground flaxseed !!And, they were made into muffins for the kids!!

  8. […] 3. Pinch My Salt’s Whole Wheat Banana Bread […]

  9. 9
    Kris Says:

    Thanks. I made this today.

  10. 10
    lmac Says:

    Oh my gosh! This is so wholesome and so moist with chewy ends and perfectly delicious. I have eaten so much of it with my 2 and 4 year olds that my 6 year old will probably demolish the rest of it when she walks in from school! Thanks so much for posting this….so easy and delicious!

  11. […] Whole Wheat Banana Bread « Pinch My Salt Dessert for after the extravaganza. (tags: food Recipes) […]

  12. […] This recipe from Pinch My Salt caught my eye because it uses whole wheat flour and relatively little butter and sugar. As with all recipes, I cut the sugar in half and added […]

  13. […] to get through my leftover turkey) courtesy of Simply Recipes (best overall food blog) and the Whole Wheat Banana Bread from Pinch My Salt (best new food […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

