Homemade Sloppy Joes

sloppy-joe-for-web.jpg

I loved sloppy joes as a kid but I don’t know if my mom made them from the canned sauce, a sauce packet or from scratch. I tried the canned stuff once and it was awful! I’ve tried making up recipes a couple of times with mild success but they just didn’t taste right to me. So, I gave up and didn’t think much about it for the last year or two. But recently I’ve run across a couple of homemade sloppy joe recipes that made me want to try again! The first was at Something So Clever. The photo is what made me start craving them again! Then I ran across another recipe in Real Simple’s cookbook. I don’t own the book but was able to browse through it online and saw the recipe. This recipe is loosely based on the Real Simple version but I added ketchup and brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit.

Homemade Sloppy Joes

1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 T. Olive Oil
1 pound ground beef
2 t. chili powder
1 t. ground cumin
1/8 t. cinnamon
1/8 t. freshly ground black pepper
1 t. kosher salt
1 small can tomato paste
1 T. brown sugar
1/4 C. ketchup
1/2 C. water

  1. Saute onions, peppers and garlic in olive oil until softened.
  2. Add ground beef and cook until no longer pink. Drain fat.
  3. Add all other ingredients to the ground beef mixture and cook, stirring, over low heat for a few minutes until thickened. Add more water if it gets too thick.
  4. Serve in hamburger buns and try not to make a mess!

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by e-mail

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    Pamela Says:

    I’ve never eaten sloppy joes but this looks really yummy and makes me want to give them a try!

  2. 2
    Curt Says:

    If you’ve never tried it, next time you make sloppy joes, put plain potato chips on the sandwich, too… It adds a texture that’s irresistable!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

