The Pancake Recipe Has Arrived

blueberry-stack.jpg

I wrote about blueberry pancakes a while back but didn’t post my recipe because I thought it needed a little work. Well this morning I felt like working on it (actually, I felt like eating blueberry pancakes), so I now have a delicious whole grain sour cream blueberry pancake recipe for you, complete with nutrition info! I really think these are the best whole grain pancakes I’ve ever eaten!

These pancakes are good for you in the sense that they offer a good amount of fiber and protein compared to a traditional pancake. But like many of my recipes they are not low in fat. Perhaps you noticed the word “sour cream” in the recipe title? I used full fat sour cream because that’s what I like. But feel free to experiment with lowfat sour cream if you prefer. Just please don’t use any of those strange fat free concoctions that they try to pass off as sour cream…they scare me ;-)

This recipe uses oat bran and if you don’t normally keep it on hand, go ahead and buy some. I know what it’s like to buy an ingredient for one recipe and then never use it again. But I’ve already posted two muffin recipes featuring oat bran and now these pancakes. So you don’t really have an excuse not to try it! And since I like using it so much lately, I’m sure you’ll see a few more “oat bran” recipes popping up soon.

The suggested serving for this recipe is three pancakes, so when you look at the nutrition data, keep that in mind. They are much more filling than traditional pancakes and I actually found myself pretty full after eating only two of them. I’m pretty sure my husband could polish off quite a few more than that though! But now that I’ve made the full recipe and I’m currently the only one in the house, I’m going to be eating these pancakes for over a week! I hope they freeze well :-)

blueberry-pancakes-on-griddle.jpg

Whole Grain Sour Cream Blueberry Pancakes

1 1/2 C. whole wheat flour
1/4 C. wheat germ
1/2 C. oat bran
2 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
2 T. brown sugar

1 1/2 C. lowfat milk
1/2 C. sour cream
2 eggs
2 T. melted butter
1 C. blueberries

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate bowl whisk together, milk, sour cream and eggs.
  3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined. Stir in melted butter and blueberries.
  4. Drop pancake batter by 1/4 cupfuls (I just use a 1/4 dry measuring cup) onto a hot, greased griddle.
  5. Pancakes are ready to flip when the edges stary to dry out and darken.
  6. Enjoy!

Yield: 18 pancakes, 6 servings.

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

nutrition-info-for-sour-cream-blueberry-pancakes.png

28 Comments »

  1. 1
    Jen Says:

    :) Those sound amazing! I’ll try them for sure.

    Here from Mac’s
    http://www.themacdaddy.wordpress.com

  2. Hi, Nicole,

    Your pancakes look amazing!! Yummy!!

    I thing I’ll try these on the weekend. :D

  3. 3
    Quinn Says:

    Lovely pictures! They are making me realize just how hungry I am this morning. I wish I had the ingredients on hand! I’m with you about fat free sour cream. The less mysterious processing done to my food, the better.

  4. 4
    Alanna Says:

    Oat bran … of course! These are gorgeous.

  5. 5
    Kathy Gannon Says:

    Hey Nicole ! The pancakes sound like a great Central Camp breakfast. I am going to make these the next time I go.

  6. 6
    Scott Says:

    My dad always made his pancakes from scratch, and I’ve had to resort to tweaking things (unsuccessfully) to lose the white flour and up the nutrition a bit.

    Now I know what I’m going to do with all that oat bran I have on hand (after giving a batch of breakfast bars a go).

    I must confess, I will add chocolate chips in along with the blueberries!

  7. 7
    Nicole Says:

    Jen: Thanks, glad you stopped by! Let me know if you try the pancakes.

    Patricia: Thanks! I hope you like them :-)

    Quinn: Thanks for the compliment, nice to see you’ve stopped by again :-)

    Alanna: I’m so glad I tried baking with oat bran, it adds a great taste and texture along with the extra nutrition.

    Kathy: Yes, these would be good up at the cabin…maybe half with blueberries and half with banana! Of course my favorite breakfast up there will always be waffles!

    Scott: Let me know how the breakfast bars turn out! I need a recipe for some type of nutritious bar that is dense enough to be vacuum-sealed. My husband is deployed and I’d like to send him something through the mail but he wants something healthy. Also, let me know how the pancakes taste with chocolate chips (although I think I already know)!

  8. 8
    Connie Says:

    pancakes are a great medium for experimentation with flavors. i like your use of wheat germ, it has such a good flavor

  9. 9
    aoi Says:

    Thank you for the recipe! I will try it someday! ^_^

  10. 10
    bloglily Says:

    You’ve convinced me. Oat bran goes on my shopping list. I’m working on adding more whole grains to our meals and this is a fabulous, fabulous sounding recipe.

  11. 11
    Mae Says:

    That looks great. I’ve wanted to make blueberry pancakes but never got the chance. Now blueberries are nearly out of season. Sigh.

  12. 12
    Julia Says:

    ahhh, they look so delicious! perfect!
    thanks for working on it – I will definitely try them! =)
    and nice you put the nutrition info with them! Tnx!

  13. 13
    fivecats Says:

    A question, really two … is the sour cream an essential ingredient? And, how does it work as regular pancake recipe without the blueberries? Thanks!

  14. 14
    Ivonne Says:

    How I would love a stack of those right now!

  15. 15
    jeannette Says:

    wow, those look amazing! i actually made pancakes this morning and felt bad that i didn’t have any blueberries to add. and now i see what i missed! i’m cursing myself for not going blueberry picking this summer!

  16. 16
    Mary Says:

    There’s nothing like a stack of fluffy (homemade from scratch) pancakes on a Saturday morning. I like that you made them “healthier” than the traditional pancakes.

  17. 17
    Corinne Says:

    These pancakes look amazing! I’ll have to try to make them sometime!

  18. 18
    Karen Says:

    Nicole –

    Those sound really good – I have blueberries in the freezer …

    I’m thinking of trying yogurt in place of the sourcream …

  19. 19
    Laurie Says:

    Dh is absolutely crazy for blueberry pancakes. I make them regularly. I’ll have to try your recipe and see what he thinks. We make our own blackberry syrup every year and dh carefully hoards it all for his blueberry pancakes, sharing reluctantly when forced to, lol!

    It is an incredible combination!

  20. 20
    Anita Fei Says:

    sigh..this is the punishment I get for browsing food blogs at office…it’s 11AM and I was too rushed to have breakfast this morning. And then came your blueberry pancake. Trying to survive the hunger pangs now!! I’m printing out the recipe already…wonder if this would be good for dessert – or dinner itself, haha.. I wonder if I can use buttermilk instead of sourcream+milk..hmm…getting even hungrier still (if that’s possible…)
    (btw, lovely lovely pictures in the blog!!!):D

  21. 21
    Nicole Says:

    Anita,

    I’m sure the buttermilk would work fine! And yes, these are great for lunch and dinner too! I know because I was eating them for a week after I made them! They taste great at room temperature too. And they also freeze well. I froze them in single servings (3 pancakes) and then I reheat them in the microwave. They taste just as good reheated which is kind of unusual for a pancake I think!

  22. 22
    Harmonia Says:

    Hi! Just Blog hoppin today and stumbled upon yours. Very nice! I provided my link incase you are web surfing anytime soon and want to swing by.

  23. 23
    Tom Says:

    I saw your recipe and I figured I have just found the best pankcakes. I am going to make some during the coming week. I remember my uncle made pacakes that looked just like these.

    Thank you for putting this recipe up.

    Tom

  24. 24
    Dana Says:

    Every Saturday at our house is pancake breakfast day. My husband does all the cooking and so far we’ve had banana pancakes, pumpkin pancakes, chocolate pancakes but no blueberry pancakes. The kids have really been wanting blueberry pancakes. I really liked your recipe because of all the wholesome ingredients that are in it, yes even the sour cream~~ Well we had your pancakes this morning and they were a big hit!! The kids are already begging dad to make them again next Saturday!! Thanks! Dana

  25. 25
    mneme Says:

    Recipe looks fabulous! I’m always seeking ways to make pancakes, my comfort food of choice, more healthful. This is my first visit to your blog, can’t wait to explore. Question: Would you mind sharing how you create the Nutrition Facts box? Is there a template you use? Thanks.

  26. 26

    yummmyyyy

  27. 27

    that looks very tasty!

  28. [...] My Salt, it will now be quick and easy to digg some of my posts.  Recipes that can now be dugg are Whole Wheat Sour Cream Blueberry Pancakes, Whole Wheat Banana Muffins, Nando’s Chicken Pizza (come on, it’s kinda healthy!), and [...]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

