Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

mini-pumpkin-cheesecakes-for-web.jpg

As predicted in my last post, I have another pumpkin recipe for you. This is the second mini cheesecake recipe on this site and each time I use my mini cheesecake pan, I love it even more. It’s easy to use, easy to clean and I’ve had perfect results each time. The best part about baking mini cheesecakes rather than a full-size cake is that you don’t have to worry about slicing it! I have to be the world’s worst dessert slicer! It doesn’t matter whether it’s pie, cake or cheesecake, the slices always turn out horrible! Now I’m starting to understand the recent popularity of cupcakes…they look so cute and perfect with no slicing involved :-)

As I was looking around for a pumpkin cheesecake recipe, I saw that one of them was topped with cinnamon whipped cream. I ended up making up my own cheesecake recipe rather than using any of the ones I found, but the idea for cinnamon whipped cream stuck in my head. I always whip my own cream but I had never thought of adding flavoring to it. When it came time to serve the cheesecakes, I decided to try adding a little ground cinnamon along with the usual vanilla and powdered sugar and it turned out to be the perfect topping for these cheesecakes. It will also be my new favorite topping for any pumpkin or apple pie from now on.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo of the cheesecakes after they were topped with the cream but you can take my word for it that they looked good ;-) You can change up the amount and type of spices in this recipe to suit your own taste. If you have pumpkin pie spice on hand, you can just use that to replace all of the other spices. If you want to experiment with the spices but don’t like the idea of tasting the batter with raw egg, blend together everything except the egg and keep adding spices and tasting until you get the flavor you want. Then add the egg and continue with the recipe. Speaking of the recipe, here it is:

For this recipe, you will need a Mini Cheesecake Pan

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

Filling:
1 eight oz. package cream cheese, softened
1/2 C. canned pumpkin (or cooked and mashed fresh pumpkin)
1 egg plus 1 egg white, slightly beaten
1/4 C. packed brown sugar
2 T. maple syrup
1/4 t. cinnamon
1/8 t. ground ginger
1/8 t. ground nutmeg
dash cloves

Crust:
1 C. graham cracker crumbs
2 T. brown sugar
1/3 stick melted butter
1 T. maple syrup
1/4 t. cinnamon
1/8 t. nutmeg

Topping:
1 C. heavy cream
powdered sugar to taste
1/2 t. vanilla extract
1/2 t. cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix crust ingredients until well combined. Divide mixture evenly between the 12 cups. Press crumbs firmly on bottom and 1/3 up sides of each cup. Set aside.
  3. In a separate medium bowl, blend filling ingredients together until smooth. Spoon this mixture into each crust-lined cup, dividing evenly between all 12.
  4. Place cheesecake pan into the preheated oven and bake for 14 minutes. Remove from oven and place on rack to cool for 20 minutes. Carefully remove cheesecakes from pan by pressing up from the bottom of each cup. Let cheesecakes cool completely on wire rack then refrigerate until ready to serve.
  5. Just before serving, combine the cream, sugar, vanilla and cinnamon and whip until soft peaks form. Serve the cheesecakes topped with the cinnamon whipped cream.
  6. Enjoy!

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

32 Comments »

  1. 1
    connie Says:

    oh pumpkin! thank goodness for fall and all its flavors. these look amazing

  2. 2
    joyce Says:

    IT is THanksgiving here in Canada nextweekend and youhave just answered my question about what to have for dessert. I wanted something different than the usual pumpkin pie. Could they be made in muffin tins do you think. I am not sure what mini cheesecake pans are but I know I don’t have any.

  3. 3
    Brilynn Says:

    I frequently add maple syrup to my whipped cream, it’s really nice too.
    I need to get some of those mini cheesecake pans, I also suffer from your slicing difficulties disease, plus they’re just super cute.

  4. 4
    rhino Says:

    Haha, I was just talking about how I’m happy pumpkins are showing up in the stores now. It means I can make my Pumpkin Apple Risotto again :D

    I’ll post it and a recipe in my blog within the next week or so. :D

  5. 5
    amanda Says:

    I know exactly what you mean about slicing things poorly! it makes me stick my tail between my legs and whimper away from photographing foods i have to cut! i’ve always been so envious of people like keiko from nordljus who seem to get the cut right every time. Now as far as the pumpkin cheesecakes are concerned! OH HECK YEAH! I’m the first to admit that i’m a cheesecake purist. I don’t like all those flavored cheesecakes (for the most part) but there is something about pumpkin cheesecake that just works. and my do these little ones have my psyched!

  6. 6
    Orchidea Says:

    These are great! I like cheesecake a lot and pumpkin… I will try them soon.
    Ciao.

  7. 7
    gardenpath Says:

    Cinnamon whipped cream would be good on pumpkin pie, too!

  8. 8
    Amanda P Says:

    I love the fall and last year I made many pumpkin cheese cakes. I made mini cheese cakes but like most I dont have many mini cheesecake pans so I bought the pre made mini gram cracker shells, You get 6 for $1.99 or so. If your making the cakes for a small gathering it wouldnt be so bad just to buy them. But I cant wait to try this recipie out!

  9. 9
    Jennifer Says:

    I adore my mini cheesecake pan, too. Not only does it eliminate the slicing issue, but also those little cheesecakes are just too cute. It makes it easy to have some variety, too.

  10. 10
    Tone Says:

    I must say this recepie looks great. But as a scandinav I’m not used to american measurements. So how much is 1/3 stick of butter? Cant wait to try this cheescake. If I was to make this in a normal cake tin – how lage would you estimate the tin to be?
    Thank you!

  11. 11

    Those look scrumptious! So happy I just found your site. My husband will be too!

    ~firefly

  12. 12
    peabody Says:

    Keep the pumpkin coming!

  13. 13
    Tasso Says:

    I like this website because it is about one person expressing their thougts… and we know that a picture is worth a thousand words. Nice work.

  14. 14
    Dave Says:

    A whole stick of butter is equivalent to one cup or 8 fluid ounces. So a 1/3 stick of butter is roughly 3 fluid ounces, or about 80 to 85 mililiters.

    I’ve got to try this recipe for thanksgiving this year. Thanks very much for posting it! I don’t have a mini cheesecake pan, is there anything else I can substitute? Would a normal cheesecake pan work?

  15. 15
    stinger97 Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin cake in general, but those look ridiculously delicious. Very nice.

  16. 16
    guinnessgirl Says:

    Mmmm! These look amazing. I might have to go out and buy a mini cheesecake pan for the sole purpose of making them. Thanks for sharing!

  17. 17
    Morgan Antoinette Says:

    I tried this recipe out for a small soire held at a friend who is notoriously a whiz at creating amazing dishes at a moments notice. I realized I officially am in LOVE with you guys here when she kept sneaking extras of these sweet little cakes and wanted to know my “secret” for the recipe. The whipped cream made a very decedent, very excellent garnish. I love the versatility adding various flavored syrups to whipped creams gives you. Thanks for the post.:)

  18. 18

    That sounds amazing. I’ll have to try this out myself!

  19. 19
    krymsonmoon Says:

    I love adding flavours to whipped cream. Cinnamon has been a longtime favourite, as is maple syrup. I also add cocoa powder for chocolate whipped cream and nutmeg for coffee flavoured desserts. Really, your imagination is the limit.

  20. […] A: helloooooooo fall. T: hello. Fall. A: uh… i wasn’t saying hello to you, T! T: I know, and I wasn’t saying hello to you. I was saying hello to fall. Only slightly less enthusiastically than you. Not that I don’t like fall, i’m just not feeling peppy. A: and maybe you just don’t like fall that much. T: actually I love fall. I always get a fun nostalgic feeling. It always reminds me of a couple of years back. A: I definately feel that. and then i hear that song by Better Than Ezra, “Time of Year”. And suddenly i’m a fallish wreck. I don’t know, but for some reason that song gets me right here. *points to her heart T: and it gets me right here. points to his neck. A: shut-up! you love it! T: it’s true, I do. And that reminds me of another song that gets me right here. points to his neck “I do” by Jude. A: wow… i think we’ve now listed all the songs that have made me cry in the past six years – now maybe we should move on to the food, T! T: We should. These pumpkin muffins were about as fall as a muffin can get. You know, I’m pretty sure I’ve never had a pumpkin muffin. How bout you? (are they common and I’ve just been left out for 25 years?) A: i wouldn’t say that they’re uncommon, but i think pumpkin bread is the more common form. I’ve eaten pumpkin bread before, but never a pumpkin muffin. These were inspired mostly by all of the delicious pumpkin stuff i’m been seeing on blogs lately. Particularly by the incredibly awesome Nicole, from Pinch My Salt. I’ve been having to stare at her to-die-for mini-pumpkin cheesecakes and muffins for a while now and my god, i wanted something pumpkin! T: yeah that stuff does look good. And these muffins were good, however they were not quite on the level of a pumpkin cheesecake. I mean, come on, pumpkin cheesecake. I mean. Seriously. that’s good. A: i know, i know. but pumpkin cheesecake is nowhere as healthy as pumpkin muffins! and i wanted to make them for breakfast! what kind of people would we be if we were eating pumpkin cheesecake for breakfast! T: we would be happy people, Amanda. Happy people. A: heheheh larger happy people… but happy people none-the-less, i suppose. I think thanksgiving is a great time for us to induldge in pumpkin cheesecake. how ’bout you? T: yes it is. Actually fall is a great time for us to indulge in all sorts of pumpkin treats. like… A: on the real-a, hommes! like pumpkin risotto, pumpkin cheesecakes, pumpkin mash, pumpkin pancakes (savory and sweet), pumpkin breads… pumpkin… pumpkin… PUMPKIN! T: the word pumpkin starts to look funny after a while. Pump kin. That’s just weird. A: But what about the muffins! T: muff ins. muf fins. muffins. I don’t know, that doesn’t look nearly as weird as pump kin. A: silly boy! i’m talking about what you thought of these muffins! T: they were quite tasty! I enjoyed the fruity chunks, and the molasses. I don’t know how they could possibly be improved (although I’m sure you will find a way). I give them a 4.4/5. How bout you? A: I’m gonna go with a 4.33/5. They were quite a treat. sweet, but not too sweet. fruity, molasses-y. oh-yeah, they were the stuff my fall dreams are made of! thanks nicole, and all you foodbloggers out there that inspired me to make something with pumpkin! T: Yes, and thank you mandy for putting pumpkin muffins in front of my face and saying, “eat, t-dog!” […]

  21. It looks delicious and beautiful! Great job ;)
    M

  22. Look at those delicious looking cakes! What a great color!

  23. 23
    Gourmet Says:

    Wowwww!!! I love pumpkin and I love cheesecake!!!
    Thanks
    ;-O)

  24. […] #5: From Italy, Pinch My Salt shares her recipe to prepare delicious looking Mini Pumpkin Cheesecake: […]

  25. 25
    michaelm Says:

    I just gained 10lbs. looking at your pictures.
    Yoiks!
    Wonderful site.
    I will be back.
    Me and my corpulent posterior…

    ~m

  26. […] » Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes « Pinch My Salt […]

  27. 27
    mhamilt Says:

    When you say half a can of pumpkin can you advise what size can you mean, or how many ozs of pumpkin we should use? Thanks! These look delicious!

  28. 28
    joseem42 Says:

    I baked those last night, they were soooo easy and they looked great! I substituted 1/2 of graham cracker crumbs for 1/2 cup of grounded ginger snap cookies… YUM!!

  29. 29

    I made these for a halloween party and they were devoured! Instead of making the whipped cream, I added cinnamon to cool whip because they would be sitting out for a while…. it tasted great! I also put eyes on them with piping gel so the cool whip looked like little ghosts! I wish I could attach a picture because they were so cute! I will be, without a doubt, be making these again!

  30. […] Hummus Pumpkin Cookies from Simply Recipes Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes from Pinch My Salt Pumpkin, Coconut, and Rum Soup from The Traveler’s […]

  31. […] Recipes from Food Blogs around the World Thai Spiced Pumpkin Soup by Heidi of 101 Cookbooks Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes from Nicole of Pinch My Salt Kaddo Bourani (Pumpkin with Yogurt and Meat Sauces) from Habeas Brulee […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

