Easy Egg Salad for Easter Egg Overload

sandwich-on-plate.jpg

It’s that time of year when many families with children find that their baskets and refrigerators runneth over with hard-boiled eggs. What to do with them all?! My favorite solution to the problem has always been deviled eggs, but today I am going to share with you my second favorite. Egg Salad Sandwiches! I love egg salad and as far as I’m concerned, the simpler the recipe, the better. Some things in life are not meant to be fooled around with and I believe that egg salad is one of those things. So, you will find nothing fancy in my egg salad and I’m pretty sure you’ll like it that way too! I learned to make it this way from my mother-in-law Sharon, who makes the most amazing egg salad but curiously, won’t eat it herself.

This recipe uses mustard powder rather than prepared mustard, and if you use enough, the salad will have a little bite. Feel free to add more mustard powder than the recipe says if you, like me, enjoy just a bit of that hot mustard burn. If not (wimp), just follow the recipe instructions, and you’ll have a nice, mild, creamy, eggy experience. Also, try using a pastry blender to chop your eggs…you won’t believe you actually used to chop them all by hand!

Update: To learn how to make perfect hard-boiled eggs, head over to Kalyn’s Kitchen for instructions and more hard-boiled egg recipes!

chopping-eggs.jpg

Easy Egg Salad

4 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
1/4 – 1/2 C. mayonnaise
1 – 2 t. Coleman’s mustard powder
salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

  1. Place whole eggs in a bowl and, using a pastry blender, mash eggs until they are finely chopped.
  2. Add 1/4 C. mayo and 1 t. mustard powder then stir to blend. Taste and then adjust amounts of mayo and mustard powder to suit your own taste.
  3. Season well with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve on your choice of bread.

Yield: enough for two sandwiches

Print this recipeĀ 

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by e-mail

sandwich.jpg


41 Comments »

  1. Never thought of using the pastry blender to chop the eggs. Great idea. I am a fan of the mustard burn too!

  2. 2
    Kalyn Says:

    Love that mustard burn! Sounds like the perfect recipe. No pickles, thank you for that!

  3. 3
    Nicole Says:

    Christine: I know, I had always chopped the eggs by hand until I saw my mother-in-law do it this way. It works great! Thanks for stopping by!

    Kalyn: Pickles in egg salad? Ewwwwww ;-)

  4. 4

    Hey Nicole
    Finally got to watch the video’s. Egg salad picture looks great as usual.

  5. 5
    brocha Says:

    Hi,

    in my home we use onion instead of mustard. Try this way, it’s healthy and delicious! :)

  6. 6
    Nicole Says:

    Ciao Padmaja: Thanks! I’ll get back to you soon about the coffee.

    Brocha: Thanks for stopping by! Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan of raw onion but I’m sure some of my readers will appreciate the idea! :-)

  7. 7
    Emon Says:

    Mm mm…the sandwich with coffee would make the perfect morning. Mustard burn would actually make the coffee taste even better. Call me ‘weird’ but…’daddy’ would suffice. :)

  8. 8
    Kat Says:

    That is exactly how I make my egg salad! It’s wonderful and I always wonder why I don’t make it more often. (I also say that about corned beef.) Oh wait, yes I do…gas. Beano!

  9. 9
    Lydia Says:

    Nothing beats really great egg salad. I’m partial to Miracle Whip instead of mayo, but really anything will do. No pickles, no onion, and yes to mustard!

  10. 10
    indiea Says:

    nice on toast.

  11. 11
    amanda Says:

    heheh this is just perfect for today. :-) this year we were traveling over the easter holiday weekend so we didn’t get to dye any eggs but normally i do just because it’s fun! i know i’m an adult but hey! who doesn’t love brightly colored eggs. i’ve never tried using mustard powder in egg salad but i bet it works fantastically. happy easter nicole! hope you’re having a great weekend!

  12. 12
    eliza Says:

    an easy recipe for a perfect egg salad! this is heaven for egg lover.

  13. 13
    Nicole Says:

    Emon: Hmmmm…I don’t know about the egg salad and coffee thing. I prefer sweet things with coffee or nothing at all. I’ve actually never eaten this for breakfast and I’m not sure why. I think I’ll try it for breakfast next time.

    Kat: So, does Beano actually work? I have a friend who swears by it but have never tried it myself! I don’t make egg salad that often either but it’s always been one of my faves!

    Lydia: I’m not a big fan of replacing regular mayo with miracle whip in egg dishes but I do love miracle whip on fresh tomatoes! I don’t know what it is about the combination but it’s so good!

    Indiea: You know it’s strange but I’ve never eaten egg salad on toast. Now I’m wishing I had some in the fridge so I could try it…sounds like a good breakfast!

    Amanda: I love to dye eggs too but it’s been a few years!

    Eliza: Yes, it is heaven :-) Thanks for stopping by!

  14. 14
    Dustin Says:

    I love egg salad, plain, no veggies…I don’t know how many times I have taken a big bite of a soggy egg salad sandwich only to discover some kind of alien crunch, and either violently expelled it from my mouth, or slowly opened up with a “blahh” look on my face, and craddling the filth on my tongue, let it fall into a napkin or back into the cursed ziplock bag from which it came! Anyways, good stuff, I’ll try mustard powder.

  15. 15
    Clare Says:

    The egg salad looks divine. At first I thought it was a pile of rich, buttery scrambled eggs; I’ve never seen egg salad look so absolutely appealing. I will be trying this very soon!

  16. 16
    Vicki Says:

    My daughter started using the big holes on a cheese grater for “chopping” the eggs. Works great until you get to the end of the egg – watch your fingers!

  17. I love the idea of using a pastry blender to chop the eggs!

  18. 18
    Joey Says:

    Pretty near perfect egg salad. Here’s one teensy improvement: make the salad and eat it while the eggs are still warm.

    Of course, you can’t do that with left-over Easter eggs, but it’s the best. Especially with really fresh homemade or artisan bread. I first had this salad back in the 70s with fresh Portuguese rolls. I still remember the occasion.

  19. 19
    Ruby Says:

    Sounds yummy! I personally leave the mustard out, I like it super plain with mayo, salt and pepper! And I have to have white bread, so yummy with good old fashioned white bread, no funky breads!
    My friend adds tuna to her egg salad, thats a big old YUCK if you ask me, but she swears by it.
    Thanks Nicole!

  20. 20
    Mary Says:

    I was too busy with other things to dye eggs this year, now I’m regretting it. I LOVE egg salad. I love them any way but with pickles. Mustard powder rules.

  21. [...] Easy Egg SaladĀ – Learn to make an egg salad in four quick steps. [...]

  22. 22
    Brilynn Says:

    I love that last pic, makes me want an egg salad sandwich right now!

  23. 23
    Michelle Says:

    At this particular moment if I never see another deviled egg again it’ll be too soon. Ugh. Why did I let them decorate so many?

  24. 24
    Angie Says:

    You are so right. Do not mess with the egg salad recipe. Step away from additional ingredients and no one will get hurt!

  25. 25
    Kristen Says:

    Using a pastry blender is a genius idea!

  26. 26
    janelle Says:

    I make some ‘traditional’ and some with pesto!

  27. 27
    Meg Fortino Says:

    My favorite egg salad:

    2 hard-cooked eggs, grated on the large-hole side of a 4-sided grater

    2 T mayo (or more)

    6 pimiento-stuffed olives, finely chopped

    Salt and pepper to taste

    Mix it all together. Spread on whole-wheat toast. Mmmmm.

    (I like my egg salad on the dry side, so I only use enough mayo to make it hold together. Add mayo to taste.)

    (Grating the eggs makes a very smooth egg salad — no noxious hard-cooked egg white chunks.)

  28. 28

    YUM. Did you make your own mayonnaise? I was thinking of doing a collective kitchen with various mayonnaises including sardine, shrimp and a nice aioli (although it’s hard to pick the right olive oil for that one) to name a few. Of course you can’t get me out of a jar of Helman’s either.

  29. 29
    Jeena Says:

    Hi Nicole :) Your egg mayo looks yummy! I posted my mango lassi for you if you want to check it out :)

  30. 30

    I always get a tummy ache after eating eggs, but this looks too good to miss.

    Must leave out the salt, still on a diet :sad:

  31. 31
    Nicole Says:

    Dustin: hahahahaha…nothing worse than a crunchy egg salad sandwich! That’s why I will never eat one unless I make it myself or I watched the person make it from start to finish. I live in fear of unexpectedly biting into a chunk of raw onion!

    Clare: Thanks! Yes, it’s not easy to make an egg salad sandwich look appealing…it’s good to know that I was able to do it! :-)

    Vicki: That sounds like another great idea! I can see myself making a mess, though! But I make a mess every time I walk in the kitchen so that’s no big surprise!

    Lisa: It works really well! I might try Vicki’s cheese grater idea too and see how that works.

    Joey: Hmmmm…I don’t know if I’d like it warm. I’m very particular about having my egg salad well-chilled. Although I suppose I should try it before saying I don’t like it!

    Ruby: Ewwwww…I don’t think I’d like tuna in my egg salad. As for the bread…I’ll eat it on anything as long as it’s not stale.

    Mary: Make some! :-)

    Brilynn: Thanks! I was feeling the same way about that caramel photo at your site! :-)

    Michelle: You let them decorate so many because it’s fun! :-)

    Angie: Your comment cracked me up! :-)

    Kristen: Yes, it really does speed up the process!

    Janelle: Pesto!? I love pesto but I never would have thought to try it in egg salad. Interesting idea!

    Meg: Thanks for sharing your recipe! Vicki also mentioned the idea of grating the eggs. I’ll have to try it sometime and compare the two methods. And although I said I like my egg salad plain, I’m intrigued by the chopped olives because I LOVE olives!! :-)

    Jonathan: To tell you the truth, I’ve never tried making my own mayo…not sure why. I always use Hellmanns (Best Foods if you live on the west coast). I’m looking forward to the mayonnaise edition of Collective Kitchen although you won’t find me anywhere near a sardine! :-)

    Jeena: Yay! I’m heading over to your site right now…thanks! :-)

    Misslionheart: I hope you enjoy it…I’m a salt addict so I’ve never tried it without the extra salt!

  32. 32
    Pam Says:

    What a funny doincidence – Heidi at 101cookbooks posted recently about egg salad sandwiches too. Now I really can’t stop thinking about them. My ideas were to use some arugula, but not mixed in, on top. And/or homemade basil mayo. Anyway, yours looks so tempting! Thanks for the great post. Hope your holiday was fun.

  33. 33
    Ruby Says:

    BTW Emeril has a great mayo recipe I used for a potluck a while back…

    http://www.emerils.com/recipes/by_name/mayonnaise_version3.html

  34. You know you’re talented when you can make egg salad look this appetizing! :)

  35. 35
    Sarah Says:

    I also like to add a bit of vinegar to my egg salad. I imagine it gives the salad a similar bite that the mustard powder does, but it makes the egg salad a little less dry. I have some homemade vinegars that I’ve seasoned with dill and rosemary that I love in a good egg salad.

  36. 36
    Nicole Says:

    Pam: I saw Heidi’s post…the photo is beautiful, isn’t it!

    Ruby: I’ll check it out, thanks!

    Susan: Thanks, Susan! :-)

    Sarah: I used to add vinegar to mine, also. Sometimes I still do but I really like this basic recipe. Mmmmm…dill and rosemary vinegars sound wonderful! I’ve never tried flavoring my own vinegars at home. Would you mind sharing some tips?

  37. 37
    Sinead Says:

    Whoa that looks awesome.

  38. 38
    Sinead Says:

    Actually I think the food taste the best just by looking at the food in the picture. Too bad I have physic mind :p

    Watched “The Secret”? Learn how I used it… http://infinitetreasure.thesgrprogram.com

  39. 39
    Arden Says:

    Hi Nicole, this easy recipe is delicious. Thank you for sharing. I translated it in Dutch and placed a link to your weblog: http://uitdekeukenvanarden.blogspot.com/2007/04/woodleaf-furn-en-recept-eiersalade.html

  40. 40
    Nicole Says:

    Sinead: Thanks!

    Arden: Glad you liked it and I think it’s so cool that my recipe has been translated into Dutch! Thanks!

  41. 41
    kos Says:

    this easy recipe is delicious
    you can see also
    http://www.about-recipes.com//recipe.php?id=2002


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

