Nando’s Honey Garlic Wings

nandos-honey-garlic-wings-2-for-web.jpg

This is a continuation of my previous review of Nando’s Peri Peri Sauces. I had three sauces to try out–Roasted Reds Cooking Sauce, Peri-Peri Marinade, and Garlic Peri-Peri Sauce. I used the first two sauces in my chicken pizza, but I had different plans for the Garlic Peri-Peri Sauce. It seemed like the sauce might be good on some chicken wings, so of course I tried it out. Guess what? It was good on chicken wings :-)

I had never cooked chicken wings before but I decided I wanted to grill them rather than fry or bake them. So, I turned to my favorite book on grilling, Elizabeth Karmel’s Taming the Flame. Sure enough, she had instructions for grilled Buffalo-Style Chicken Wings. I adapted the recipe a little but definitely can’t take credit for creating this one!

I used a bag of frozen chicken drummettes, but you’re welcome to use whole wings if that’s what you prefer. This recipe uses a combination of indirect and direct grilling, If you don’t understand the difference, read this before you get started. I didn’t give exact amounts of seasonings, just use your best judgment :-)

Nando’s Honey Garlic Wings

3 – 4 pounds chicken drummettes
olive oil
garlic powder
salt
pepper
4.7 oz. bottle Nando’s Garlic Peri-Peri Sauce

2 T. Butter
2 T. honey

  1. Light briquettes or preheat a gas grill.
  2. Defrost chicken pieces and pat dry with paper towels.
  3. Put chicken pieces in a large bowl; drizzle with olive oil; season with garlic powder, salt, and pepper; stir until all pieces are coated.
  4. Grill chicken pieces, covered, over medium indirect heat for 20 – 25 minutes, turning once halfway through cooking time.
  5. While chicken is grilling, combine hot sauce, butter, and honey in a small saucepan. Bring to a slow boil, whisking occasionally, and reduce heat to low. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  6. Take 1/3 of the sauce to the grill and brush on the chicken. Grill for an additional 5 -10 minutes.
  7. Remove wings from grill and place in a clean bowl. Pour remaining sauce over the chicken and stir until they are well coated.
  8. Return the chicken to the grill, this time over direct medium heat. Grill for a few minutes on each side until brown and caramelized. Watch chicken carefully because it will burn quickly!
  9. Serve warm with blue cheese dip.

These wings have a little kick but they really aren’t too spicy. But even though these aren’t as spicy as traditional buffalo wings, the Nando’s Garlic Peri-Peri Sauce really gives them a wonderful flavor and I have to say that I enjoyed them as much or more than most wings I’ve had in restaurants and bars. They also got several thumbs up from a group of Sailors here that I recently recruited to be Pinch My Salt taste-testers. Thanks guys!

Don’t forget to sign the Guest Book

subscribe to Pinch My Salt by e-mail

25 Comments »

  1. 1
    Ruby Berry Says:

    Yahoooo!!! Chicken wings, a personal favorite of mine. Costco sells a bag of my favorite Tequila Lime chicken wings, but I have a feeling these will be my new favorite.
    These look truly FINGER LICKIN GOOD! :)

  2. 2
    Emon Says:

    Oh my! I go crazy for wings and these sets my drooling to Niagara Falls mode.

  3. 3
    Curt Says:

    One way to kick up your wings is to deep fry them for about 4 minutes, which helps with the skin a bit, then put them on a grill with indirect heat, with some wood chunks in the coals or wood chips over the flame to finish them. You end up with great wings with little chance of burning them over a fire. They’re called ‘smo-fried’.

  4. 4
    Corinne Says:

    These look sooooo Yummy! I’m not a huge fan of wings but I think I would like these!

  5. 5
    Kristen Says:

    What a great looking recipe. More yummy Nando’s!

  6. 6
    Jason Says:

    I still say these (or anything) would be better with eggplant and eggs…..

  7. These would be a hit in a Brazilian barbecue, Nicole!

  8. Nicole, this picture is so cute.
    I like this recipe, because I could prepare it for my parties, and I think people will enjoy it.

  9. 9
    s'kat Says:

    It’s almost lunchtime, and suddenly, my healthy little salad just isn’t so appetizing anymore!

  10. 10
    Terry B Says:

    When we moved, I couldn’t decide whether to junk our banged up old Weber kettle or move it. Reading this post, I’m really glad I moved it!

  11. 11
    amanda Says:

    man those wings look awesome! i think i’m really going to have to order some of the nado’s sauces for a fall back plan when i don’t feel like making anything from scratch. it’s amazing that you can make chicken wings look so beautiful nicole! :-)

  12. 12
    jen Says:

    These look delicious, Nicole! My mouth started watering when I saw them. Yum, wings :D

  13. 13
    Nancy Says:

    These look soooo good! I love wings.

  14. 14
    Jeena Says:

    Hi nicole your chicken recipe sounds delicious. Nice pics :)

  15. Those little wingies look awesome! I may have to kick ‘em up a bit with some heat.
    great!

  16. 16

    I am all over these. I have been craving wings for weeks now.

  17. 17
    fracas Says:

    Those look absolutely awesome! I shall repeat myself.. I’m glad I don’t do a food blog and have to compete with you.

  18. [...] post on Nando’s Honey Garlic Wings will get your drool factory going. Sacramento Bee just gave her blog a nice mention. If you [...]

  19. 19
    macgyversrollofducttape Says:

    “a little kick?”
    What does that mean?

  20. 20
    Nicole Says:

    Jason (macgyversrollofducttape): It means that they are most likely not hot enough for you so you’d better add some more hot sauce! ;-)

  21. 21
    Brian Says:

    Awesome! Thanks for the link and the recipes! My wife and I love, love, love Nandos (the resturaunt and the peri-peri sauce)… they’re huge in Malaysia, but not so easy to find in the U.S. (Of course, I say that, and immediately find there’s a place 2 miles away that sells their sauce. :lol: )

  22. 22
    aria Says:

    mmmmmmmmm nandos, this wings look like perfection!

  23. 23
    dawn Says:

    yum! yum! yum!
    Really fantastic pics. Thanks!

  24. 24
    -joe Says:

    oh my god — this looks too good

  25. 25
    Peter Says:

    Nicole, Nando’s chicken rocks! I’ll try your version at home…thanks!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

