Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

hummus.jpg

Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

6-8 oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed
1 T. tahini
juice of 1 lemon
4 T. extra virgin olive oil
salt — to taste
fresh ground pepper — to taste
cayenne pepper or crushed red chilies (optional)

Combine everything in a food processor and process until smooth, adjusting the oil to create consistency that you like. Add salt and pepper to taste and hot pepper if you like things a little spicy.

Good served with toasted pita bread or as a dip with corn chips. Also really good as a sandwich spread.

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Connie Says:

    great recipe! i love making hummus, its such and ‘omni-food’… great with everything! and lovely image.

  2. 2

    Beautiful photos. Just discovered your blog while visiting the Inadvertant Gardener site, and I love it! Thanks.

  3. 3
    Steph Says:

    We love hummus..definitely going to have to try this one:)

  4. 4
    Nicole Says:

    Thanks everyone! Connie, if you have great hummus recipes, make sure to pass them along😉 Steph, nice to hear from you! Let me know if you try it. I made it when Penny and Robert were here and we all LOVED it!

  5. 5

    Hi Nicole
    I love Hummus. I have all the ingredients but got one doubt? I never use thaini so do I need to refrigerate after opening or leave it on room temperature?

  6. 6

    Hi Nicole
    I just finished making hummus and it also tasted it with baby carrots:)…. its taste’s sooooooo good. thankq sooo much for wonderful and simple recipe.will post the pic’s as soon as I can. Can’t wait!

  7. […] days back I was browsing for recipes with phyllo dough and came across this wonderful blog. I started looking at the recipe Index and came across this delicious […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

