A Sunday Cappuccino

cappuccino-on-sunday.jpg

Although nothing can replace the experience of enjoying a cappuccino with good friends at your favorite bar (or local Starbucks, if you don’t happen to live in Italy), sometimes it’s just as nice to sink down into your favorite chair, cradling your favorite green cup, savoring the smell of freshly brewed espresso that has filled the entire downstairs of your house, admiring your creation — the perfect, creamy froth, the faint dusting of cocoa powder just clinging to the edge of the cup, waiting to be swept into your mouth with the first sip, the heat from the cup warming your hands as you know it will also warm first your mouth, then your throat, and then your entire body as a sense that maybe your life isn’t so bad after all slowly takes hold of you. And then you take the first sip.

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

28 Comments »

  1. 1
    rachel Says:

    How pretty!

  2. 2
    Meagan Says:

    GEEES LOUISE!!!! Could that description get anymore “GRAPHIC” ???

    Your killing me ova here!!!

  3. 3
    melanie Says:

    I love a morning cappuccino every day–

  4. 4
    bloglily Says:

    That green is so lovely and so perfect for the spring. It’s morning here in California and you’ve inspired me to make my favorite drink a beautiful one. xo

  5. 5
    Emon Says:

    Shame I never learned to swim or I’d dive in that cup and circled around for hours, occasionally dipping and sipping. And if that doesn’t wake one up, the 3rd degree burns will surely. Mmmm…buuuuurrrnnnsss!

    p.s. Is there an April’s Fools message hidden in the post?

  6. […] one more thing:  if you’d like to see a lovely cup of coffee, here’s […]

  7. There is nothing that compares to a cappuccino sitting at an outdoor cafe in Italy…but until we can get back I guess Starbucks will have to do.

  8. 8
    Mary Says:

    Your cappucino description is great and I love the color of you cup and saucer. Can anyone tell me where I can get a shirt that color? Because I’ve been looking for one.

  9. 9
    Mary Says:

    Oops, cappuccino. I do know how to spell, but the fingers sometimes get in the way of the keys.

  10. 10
    Anali Says:

    What a nice post for a Sunday! And that is the prettiest little green cup!

  11. 11

    Yes a cappuccino would be nice in the morning except I prefer tea – but the one in the picture looks too good to pass by with a nice biscotti, yes delish.

  12. 12
    leslie r Says:

    I don’t know how you make everything look so tasty! I don’t drink coffee or cappuccino, but this pic is enough to make me wish I did!

  13. 13

    Nicole,
    I’m craving a cappuccino now. I’ll have to have one even if it’s right after lunch.😉

  14. 14
    Amylou Says:

    I am so wanting that little green cup right now!

  15. 15

    Hey Nicole
    I don’t drink coffee, anything related to coffee, but Cappuccino and Espresso (or expresso) is my husband’s favorite. Can you post a easy recipe which I can make at home. I make Indian coffee. HIs day starts with a cup of coffee:D
    Lovely picture.

  16. 16
    Kathy Says:

    Hey Nicole, love the new lemon header.

  17. 17
    Kristen Says:

    I want to go to YOUR house coffee shop… it sounds heavenly!

  18. 18
    Paul Says:

    Hi Nicole,
    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Your muffins are unique. I might try them this Easter weekend for something unconventional. I do like chocolate and beetroot, with kangaroo
    and other game.

  19. 19
    Freya Says:

    Great writing and a lovely photo! Thanks for sharing your Sunday mornings with us!

  20. 20
    Stephanie Says:

    Now your talking! Love the pic and your description. Having coffee at a fav cafe or home is our favorite past time.🙂 Wish we could sit and have a cup w/you!

  21. That green cup is a gem. Great photo.

  22. 22
    Terry B Says:

    It is thoughts like this that make food more than mere fuel. This is why we cook, why we savor tastes and presentations and meals shared with friends…

    And it’s writing like this [and photography like this] that makes for the very special food blogs that keep bringing us back for more. Beautiful.

  23. 23
    Nic Says:

    This SO makes me long for Italy.

  24. 24
    Sandy Says:

    Love your new look, Nicole!
    My husband asked me to to make the carrot soup you posted a while back, and it was really good.

  25. 25
    jeena Says:

    Hi Your food blog looks great and you have some lovely recipes, I will be back to visit you.

    from
    Jeena xx

    visit jeenas blog for healthy recipes
    updated daily !

  26. 26
    Lydia Says:

    All you need to complete the picture is either the perfect partner to share the experience, or the perfect book, or the perfect campo where you can sit and people-watch! Lovely green cup.

  27. 27
    Erin Says:

    This makes me wish I liked coffee =)

  28. 28
    hans Says:

    I love coffee too, I always drink palembang coffee every morning. Palembang is city in Indonesia, the coffee from here is famous, because the taste is strong.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

