300…

Thousand!!! This site has now had over 300,000 visits. Actually, it’s almost up to 303,000 as I’m writing this. I started Pinch My Salt last summer and I never imagined that it would become as popular as it has! Thanks to everyone for continuing to visit my site even when I’m not able to post new recipes as regularly as I would like. And I would especially like to thank you for taking the time to leave all the wonderful comments! They always bring a smile to my face. Through this site, I have met so many fun and creative people, from all over the world, and it has really given me a new appreciation for the way the internet breaks down cultural and geographical boundaries. When I was a kid, I never could have imagined that I would be swapping recipes with wonderful cooks in other countries…in real time! It still blows my mind. I look forward to talking, sharing, swapping, and learning with and from even more of you in the future. Keep in touch!

Update: I’ve added some new stuff to my Recommended Sites page. Check out the new ‘Cooking Videos’ section!

Coming soon:

  • A review of Nando’s Peri-Peri sauces featuring a recipe for Spicy Chicken Pineapple Pizza — TOMORROW!!
  • Honey Garlic Hot Wings with Blue Cheese Dip — another recipe featuring Nando’s Peri-Peri sauces
  • My Mom’s Famous Potato Leek Soup
  • Herbed Tuna Salad with Feta and Pine Nuts
  • Strawberry Shortcake!!
  • A review of the novel The Last Chinese Chef by Nicole Mones

And once again, if you are interested in receiving an e-mail each time I post something new, click here and then provide your e-mail address. It’s safe, it’s easy, and I promise you won’t receive anything in your inbox except for transcripts of my latest post. Try it!

22 Comments »

  1. 1

    And thankyou for such a great blog.

    I love visiting. Even if you haven’t posted, there are always plenty of good comments to read.

    The photography is excellent and the recipes, perfect.

    Clare in Ireland

  2. 2
    leslie r Says:

    Congrats!! that’s huge! I have really enjoyed this website.

  3. 3
    Emon Says:

    Congratulations! You’re just getting warmed up!🙂

  4. 4
    Lydia Says:

    A great milestone! Looking forward to more.

  5. 5
    amanda Says:

    that’s awesome nicole! 300,000 is huge. i’m excited to read the pizza/piri piri review! you know my deep love for all things pepper related! mmm and also that famous potato leek soup.

  6. 6
    brocha Says:

    Congratulations! more, more more! Please!

  7. 7
    ksklein Says:

    Congrats. Your blog is definitely always worth a visit!

  8. 8
    Nicole Says:

    Hi everyone! See, this is the perfect example of what I was talking about…here I have 7 new comments and you guys are scattered all over the place! Clare in Ireland, Leslie and Amanda down in southern California, Emon in New York, Lydia in Rhode Island (is that right?), Brocha in…ok, I’m not sure where Brocha is living but I believe he writes in Polish on his site, and then Kerstin in, perhaps, Munich.

    I love it!

    Clare: Thanks so much! Sometimes the comments end up being more interesting than the blog post! In fact I was thinking about writing another post about “Egg in a Nest” because I found the comments to be so interesting…who knew that a piece of toast with an egg in it would be known by so many different names!

    Leslie: Thanks! Nice to see you again!

    Emon: You’re right…I am just getting warmed up! The reason I haven’t been posting a lot lately is that I have so many new ideas that I’ve just become overwhelmed. But I have a backlog of photos and recipes now…I just have to get back to the writing!

    Lydia: You’re in luck because more is on the way!

    Amanda: Thanks! Have you tried any of the Nando’s sauces? I’m assuming you can probably get them in the stores down where you’re at. Of course you can probably also get the actual peppers there…I haven’t found them here. Anyway, pizza recipe will be up today!

    Brocha: Hello again, my Vodpod friend! Glad you’re enjoying the site!

    ksklein (it is Kerstin?): Thanks so much! Are you in München?

  9. 9
    ksklein Says:

    Hi there! Yes, I´m Kerstin and I´m from Munich- though I would prefer to live in Los Angeles.😉

    BTW: you can even get some of the these Nando Sauces here.

  10. 10
    ksklein Says:

    You know… It always depens on the blogs. The better they are the more people from different countries you have. So I guess you can count your blog to one of the best.🙂 At least I do check out all your blog entries and enjoy doing so.

  11. 11
    Nicole Says:

    Hi Kerstin! Except for maybe the weather, I think I would choose Munich over Los Angeles any day! I spent a couple of days there and thought the city was wonderful!

  12. 12
    lara Says:

    congratulations on topping 300,000! great site…looking forward to more wonderful things.

  13. 13
    Dustin Says:

    I spend every single minute I am online fervently clicking on and off of your site to pad your stats, you owe me big time!

  14. 14
    Ruby Berry Says:

    It is a great blog Nicole and you have done a fantastic job making us hungry with your dazzling photos, recipes and stories.
    Thanks for the hard work, it has paid off!🙂

  15. 15
    Nicole Says:

    Lara: Thanks!

    Dustin: Can always count on you to burst my bubble…thanks😉

    Ruby: Thanks for being my cheerleader! I’m glad we’ve stayed such close friends over the years…oh crap, I’m starting to sound like Steph! 🙂 hahahaha! (just kidding Stephanie)

  16. 16

    Tillykke!!! That’s wonderful and your site deserves all the attention. And thanks for the plug!

  17. 17

    Aha, Pizza is talking to me Nicole. Mixing Wheat & White sounds really good. I make pizza at home, I’m going to follow ur recipe for the dough and I don’t think sauce is available in US stores. I can try Trades Joe or Wholefoods for red sauce:D.

  18. 18
    Stephanie Says:

    Love your site. Always look forward to seeing the recipes and pics. And its ok if you sound like me..means your getting in touch w/your feelings. heeheee:)
    And cant wait for the upcoming recipe..especially the best soup in the world on your list!!! Yummy! Ive been waiting for it.

  19. 19
    Fer Says:

    Love your site!!! Congrats!!

  20. 20
    fivecats Says:

    Congratulations! Good food, good recipes, good work. You have it all.

  21. 21
    Nicole Says:

    Jonathan: Thanks! I meant to link to your videos a long time ago but I’m a bit of a scatterbrain and forgot😉

    Padmaja: Let me know how the pizza turns out! They do sell the sauces in several stores in the US now but I’m not sure if they’re in your area. The pizza will be good with other sauces but the roasted red pepper sauce adds a little something extra! 🙂

    Steph: I’ll try to get the soup recipe up before the weather gets too warm! I meant to post it in the winter but I keep getting too emotional when I start to write about it so I’ve been putting it off!

    Fer: Thanks! Love your site too…I’m thinking right now about what to contribute to your Tale of the Giant Leek story🙂

    Fivecats: Awww…you’re making me blush🙂

  22. When I grow up I want to be like you : {)


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

