I Dreamed of Broccoli

organic-produce.jpg

No, really I did! Of course it was only a daydream, but that daydream led to my new favorite roasted broccoli recipe that I plan on sharing with you once I get through telling my silly story. I was at the gym, on the elliptical machine, listening to Bob Marley on my new ipod shuffle (I know, I probably wasn’t moving very fast while listening to that), when all of a sudden I drifted off and started daydreaming about the broccoli in my fridge. Some friends and I had visited our little organic market the day before and although pickings were slim because we showed up later than usual, I did get a very nice looking bunch of broccoli, some carrots (dirt and greens still attached), lemons, and blood oranges. Now, why it was that I didn’t dream of the citrus fruit or the carrots that day at the gym, I’ll never know. But I just couldn’t stop thinking of that broccoli. Who daydreams about broccoli at the gym??

I had been planning on using the broccoli for either a quiche or some soup but all of a sudden I couldn’t stop thinking about eating the broccoli by itself. I just wanted to go home, steam it, and eat it. All of it. But then my broccoli daydream got a little more interesting. I started thinking about roasting it. I love roasted broccoli! But the recipe I’ve used lately for roasted broccoli includes so many heavy seasonings that you can hardly taste the vegetable. You see I usually douse it in olive oil and toss it with tons of chili powder, garlic and whatever else I feel like throwing in the mix, then roast it until just tender (have to give Rachael Ray credit for that). It always turns out great but this time I was craving broccoli, not chili powder.

So there I was, still on the elliptical machine, listening to Yusuf Islam (still not moving very fast) and I start thinking that maybe instead of dumping tons of spices on the broccoli, I could add a subtler flavor by seasoning the oil with some fresh garlic. That was it! Once my brain seized on that idea, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Fresh broccoli spears tossed with garlic oil, salt and fresh ground pepper, roasted until crispy on the outside and just tender on the inside. It sounded so good that I ended up hopping off the machine a few minutes early (broccoli seems like a good excuse to cut a workout short!) and heading home. On the way home, I kept thinking about the recipe and by the time I got here, I had decided that lemon juice and parmesan cheese would make it even better without overpowering the broccoli too much.

So, I heated some oil in a saucepan, threw in a couple of smashed garlic cloves and let it cook slowly over low heat while I started washing and cutting up the broccoli. At the last minute, I decided that some heat would make the recipe even better so I threw a pinch of crushed red pepper into the garlic oil and let it cook for another minute or so.

chili-garlic-oil.jpg

Next, I strained the chili-garlic oil into a large mixing bowl, tossed in the broccoli flowerets, squeezed the juice of half a lemon on top, added a pinch of salt, several grinds of black pepper and tossed and tossed and tossed until all of the broccoli was coated with the oil and lemon. Then I spread it out in a single layer on a baking sheet and put it into my preheated 425 degree oven. While it was in the oven, I found my microplane and grated up a little pile of Parmigiano Reggiano.

parmigiano-reggiano.jpg

After 10 minutes or so, the broccoli was nice and crispy on the bottom and just barely tender, which is how I happen to like it. I dumped it all back into the bowl, sprinkled the cheese on top, tossed again and then ate it. All of it.

roasted-broccoli.jpg

No, it’s not normal for me to daydream about vegetables at the gym. I think it might have something to do with the fact that I’ve been eating almost nothing but grilled cheese sandwiches for the last week or so. My body needed something green! But it’s true that for the last year now, my head is constantly filled with new recipe ideas and once I get something in my head, I can’t stop thinking about it until I write it down or try making it.

I usually end up scribbling things down on whatever piece of paper I can find. Of course I generally lose these scraps of paper before I get around to doing anything with them. But if it’s a good idea, it will usually come to me again. This broccoli recipe ended up being written on the envelope of my friend’s wedding invitation (sorry Dustin and Elisa) because for some reason, all of the 20 pads of paper that I own have migrated upstairs and been lost in the Bermuda triangle of paperwork that we like to call our home office. I usually write the recipe as I’m cooking and then while I’m eating, I read it over and make corrections. I always try making it again using my written recipe, to make sure that it works. Usually it does, but sometimes I have to revise it a few times. For something as simple as roasted broccoli, I probably don’t need to test the recipe before publishing it on here but I did it anyway because it’s really good (even for breakfast, as I found out this morning)

Oven Roasted Broccoli with Lemon, Chili-Garlic Oil and Parmesan

1 bunch of broccoli
¼ C. extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, smashed
¼ t. crushed red pepper (optional)
Juice of ½ lemon
Kosher salt
Fresh ground pepper
Fresh grated Parmigiano Reggiano

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Heat the oil and garlic in a small saucepan over low heat. Make sure the heat is low and that the garlic is not cooking too fast. Set timer for five minutes.
  3. While garlic oil is heating, wash and cut your broccoli into pieces. I cut the flowerets into halves and/or quarters and leave a couple inches of stem attached to each piece.
  4. After the oil and garlic has heated for five minutes (the garlic should be turning golden brown, not burning!), add the crushed chili if using, heat for an additional minute then turn off stove.
  5. Strain chili-garlic oil into a large, heat-proof mixing bowl then add the broccoli.
  6. Squeeze the juice of half a lemon into the bowl then add a pinch of coarse salt (keep in mind that the cheese will add more saltiness) and several grinds of black pepper (if you don’t have a pepper grinder, why not??).
  7. Toss everything together well with a big wooden spoon so that each piece of broccoli has a thin coating of oil.
  8. Using tongs, so that the excess oil drains off, remove the broccoli to a rimmed baking sheet and spread it out in a single layer.
  9. Place broccoli in a preheated 425 degree oven for about 10 minutes. If your oven tends to be hot, check the broccoli earlier. If you like it to be extra tender, leave it in longer. At 10 minutes, the broccoli will have started to caramelize on the bottom and may even look a little burnt but don’t worry, it will taste good!
  10. While the broccoli is roasting, grate some fresh Parmesan cheese (I prefer parmigiano reggiano).
  11. When the broccoli is done to your liking, immediately toss it with as much cheese as you desire and enjoy!

 

print this recipe

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

57 Comments »

  1. 1
    Cindy Says:

    Great story! How true that winter makes us dream of GREEN vegetables! I too have seen RR roast veggies on tv, I have not tried it yet, but I printed your recipe and will make it! Now…must stop off at the food Co-op for some broccoli after work.
    Thanks!

  2. 2
    emon Says:

    Hey Nicole, liking the stories a lot! Thanks for the links.

  3. 3
    s'kat Says:

    I am absolutely craving broccoli after reading this!

  4. 4
    Brilynn Says:

    This sounds delicious! I often think up recipes in the oddest of places, but when I’m at the gym, it’s more likely chocolate than broccoli that I’m thinking of, in which case I’d better be listening to something with a much stronger beat.

  5. I am craving broccoli too…as of now! Yum! I will definitely try this one.

  6. 6

    Mmm! I’m trying to incorporate more vegetables in my diet, and this sounds like just the ticket! Thanks!

  7. 7
    Erin Says:

    Fresh from the garden vegetables! Be still my heart. Great recipe by the way.

  8. 8
    shannonoz Says:

    I’ve been looking for a good recipe for roasting broccoli, which I have not been too successful at in the past. Thanks for sharing it. I’m trying it as soon as I can get my hands on some broccoli.

  9. 9
    sarah Says:

    this sounds very yummy! maybe i’ll buy some broccoli next time i’m at the grocery store and try it. i have everything at home already!

  10. 10
    Kathy Says:

    Love the photo of the broccoli, lemons, carrots. The light on the lemons is fantastic ! The recipe sounds really good. I also bought broccoli and carrots at the farmer’s mkt on Saturday. I’ll try this.

  11. 11
    Nicole Says:

    Cindy: Thanks! I hope you like the recipe…I think you will!

    Emon: Glad you like the stories! Remember, I only link to sites that I really like 😉

    s’kat: Well I’m glad I’m not the only one that craves it!

    Brilynn: Haha, I know! Well I hadn’t been to the gym in a while so I was easing into it 🙂

    Ms. Adventures: Let me know if you try it!

    guinness girl: Yes, I need to stay away from the grilled cheese and pizza (hard to stay away from that here!) and eat more veggies myself 🙂

    Erin: Thanks!

    Shannonoz: Try it! It’s so easy and so good!

    Sarah: I hope you do try it!

    Kathy: Thanks, I liked the lemons in that photo too! Let me know if you try it…I told Corinne about it last night so maybe she’ll try it too.

  12. 12
    Genie Says:

    Nicole, I love roasting broccoli, too, but haven’t tried it with infused oil — I’m going to give that a try this week — we have a head of broccoli in the fridge. I bet it would work with cauliflower, too!

    Genie
    The Inadvertent Gardener

  13. 13

    Nicole,

    Your post is delightful!
    When I’m on the gym the only thing that crosses my mind is “I want to go home!” 😀
    I wish I had delicious thoughts like you did with broccoli.

    This is a recipe I’ll make for Sunday lunch – I’ll tell you later.

  14. 14
    Shawnda Says:

    I’m exciiiiiited. I put off going downstairs to scrounge up lunch just long enoughthat I could peek at your blog first. Thank you for lunch 🙂 I have no doubt that it’s gonna taste wonderful!

  15. 15
    Beth Says:

    Broccoli is one of my favorite vegetables but I’ve never tried roasting it. This recipe sounds great; I’ll try it tonight.

  16. 16
    Jason Says:

    What of that brocolli antipasto we had at that place? Are you going to attempt that sort of dish?

  17. 17
    Sara Says:

    That looks great – I love cooking broccoli until it gets crispy – I’ve done it with broccoli rabe and asian greens that have the little broccoli heads too.

  18. 18
    Nicole Says:

    Genie: Your comment had been caught up in my spam and I just recovered it! I think that cauliflower would be great this way too! I think I’ll try it with some of the purple cauliflower that is so popular here!

    Patricia: Thanks 🙂

    Shawnda: It makes me happy that this post is making so many people excited about broccoli!

    Beth: I hope you try it! I love broccoli prepared in lots of different ways and I even like it raw but roasted broccoli is defintely one of my favorites!

    Jason: I’m gonna have to e-mail you so you can refresh my memory about the broccoli antipasto. By the way, I tried some peanut butter cap’n crunch cheesecake crust and it didn’t live up to my expectations 😦

    Sara: The crispy parts are the best!

  19. 19
    Shawnda Says:

    PS: Lunch was FABULOUS.

  20. 20
    Nicole Says:

    Shawnda: I love getting feedback on my recipes! Thanks 🙂

  21. 21
    Sandy Says:

    I have everything to make this one! Looks good.

  22. 22
    Abby Says:

    There is nothing that pleases my soul more than a new recipe that calls for ingredients (all of them!) that I already have at the house!

    And your photos are excellent! (Do you use a tripod? I don’t have one, but am seriously planning on a trip to a big-box store this weekend to get one.)

  23. 23
    Mimi Says:

    Loved the story. I find if I think about recipes at night, while trying to fall asleep, I don’t sleep. Too stimulating.

    This recipe sounds just right: A marriage of tastes without domination of one partner.

  24. 24
    madchilli Says:

    Great story! That’s an ode to the broccoli if ever I heard one! This would probably work with cauliflower too I think. I remember mum deep-frying cauliflower florets which would give a similar effect but slightly oilier. They were served simply with some soy sauce. It was delicious. Your combination of ingredients sounds equally good.

  25. 25
    Cheryl Says:

    This was an amazing recipe! I like broccoli alright but never really look forward to it. After making it with your recipe- wow! I never knew broccoli could be so good! Even my husband, who is not a big fan of broccoli at all, loved it!

  26. 26
    Dustin Says:

    I feel like a celebrity now when I get mentioned in any “PinchMySalt” blogs. When do we get to try some “Spremuta di Arancia Rossa”?

  27. 27
    Kristen Says:

    When I’m at the gym, I’m constantly day dreaming about chocolate… broccoli would be a much better thing to dream about! This recipe, in particular, looks great.

  28. 28
    Jessica Says:

    Mmm! Can you come over and make dinner for me? Ha- I wish you were close enough…

  29. 29
    Curt Says:

    I love roasted broccoli, but I have found I like broccoflower even better, especially roasted.

    Off topic.. Nicole, if you have my email, can you email me? I have a small favor to ask!

  30. 30
    veron Says:

    I don’t like veggies much but I know they are good for me. This recipe makes me want to eat brocolli. Thanks!

  31. 31
    connie Says:

    i’m happy to see that someone else dreams of broccoli, however my dreams never come to such a beautiful conclusion!

  32. 32
    misslionheart Says:

    I craved broccoli when I was pregnant with two of my four children.

    Hubs makes the best ‘Cream of Broccoli Soup’
    Must ask him to post it!

  33. 33
    Corinne Says:

    I made this last night! It was a hit! I just wish you could have made it for me! =o)

  34. 34
    Nicole Says:

    Sandy: Hope you try it 🙂

    Abby: Yes, I almost always use a tripod for my food photography! I only spent 20 bucks on mine and it made a huge difference!

    Mimi: Thanks so much!

    Madchilli: Thanks! Mmmmmm…deep-fried cauliflower sounds great!

    Cheryl: I’m so glad you liked it and especially glad to hear that your husband liked it 🙂

    Dustin: I have so many blood oranges right now, stop by after work and have some juice!

    Kristin: Thanks a lot! I’m eating chocolate as I write this 😉

    Jessica: I wish I was close enough too! Hopefullly we’ll be making our way up to Norway in the next year, maybe we can get together!

    Curt: I’ll definitely try this with broccoflower too!

    Veron: I think even non-broccoli eaters might like this!

    Connie: I’m sure you come up with some great broccoli creations 🙂

    Misslionheart: I could use a good broccoli soup recipe!

    Corinne: Cool! Your mom said she made it too and your Dad said it was “good shit, maynard” 😉

  35. What a lovely funny story. I am just like you, daydreaming about food in the most unexpected places 😉

  36. What a great story! This morning I had trouble finding a spot on my table to put my coffee mug as it has been covered in notepads, recipes, and the like. Now that I’ve read this and know how good you are, it gives me hope!
    Crispy broccoli…mmmm good.

  37. 37

    I am so making this! I’ll be daydreaming about it till I do. I can easily eat a whole bunch of broccoli by myself.

  38. 38
    Laurel Says:

    This sounds amazing! I just love your blog. …as do all my friends and co-workers.

  39. 39
    Amanda P Says:

    My Husband and I tried your broccoli recipie last night! It was so tasty we will be having it again real soon! Thank you so much

  40. 40
    Nicole Says:

    Bea: Thanks! When I wrote over 1000 words about broccoli, I figured that most people would think I was crazy! It’s so nice to find out that I’m not the only one who has these experiences 😉

    Susan: Thanks! I can totally relate to the table filled with notepads, books and recipes!

    WillowGrace: Thanks! I guess if we sat down and ate this together, we’d have to make a double batch 😉

    Laurel: Thanks so much! Glad you left a comment because I keep meaning to e-mail you and this was just the reminder I needed 🙂

    Amanda P: I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I’ve been thinking about making it again this week 🙂

  41. 41

    Oh, totally! You guys are always welcome at our table. 🙂

  42. 42
    Laura Says:

    This broccoli is SPECTACULAR…it was delicious. Even my veggie-hating roommates adored it. Thanks! I’ll keep coming back!

  43. […] the fat by half. This dish takes no time to prepare and is very flavorful. I paired it with some oven-roasted broccoli courtesy of Pinch My Salt and rosemary bread, courtesy of me Ingredients 4 cloves garlic, minced […]

  44. […] week, Pinch My Salt featured a very tasty recipe for oven-roasted broccoli. As soon as I saw it, I literally ran downstairs to make it for lunch. Now, that wasn’t the […]

  45. 45
    sarah Says:

    nicole,

    i tried your broccoli recipe last night. it was delicious!! i made dinner for my mom and a friend of hers and they both loved it too! i added a little more lemon juice (juice from a whole lemon instead of just half) and it really made the lemon flavor pop, but not overpower the broccoli. yum! thanks!

  46. 46
    Jessica Says:

    OMG! I just made this (minus the lemon cuz’ I didn’t have it) and it was freakin’ delicious! Thank you, Nicole! 🙂

  47. 47
    alexis Says:

    i am *not* a cook – i really don’t like it and i don’t do it very often! but once i saw your recipe, i started craving broccoli. i made it last night when we had some friends over. it was SO good, i went out and got more broccoli today and made some for dinner. in the past 24 hours, i’ve probably eaten 3 whole stalks of broccoli. SO yummy!! grazie =)

  48. 48
    soumya Says:

    Was fun reading about your dreams.I love to narrate my stupid dreams to my hubby always.Hee.hee really fun to read yours.I am a great lover of broccoli.never used it by roasting in oven will give a try next time

  49. 49

    HI Nicole
    Good one and delicious recipe. will definitely try and let you know:)

  50. 50
    Cltgrace Says:

    We are definitely broccoli lovers at my house. This is a must try recipe~ Thanks~

  51. 51
    Rob K Says:

    I will admit that I never really liked broccoli and I normally gag when I try to eat it. My weekly organic produce box had broccoli in it last week and I was determined to find a recipe and found yours when searching for “how to make broccoli taste good”. I can say that I actually bought broccoli this week for the first time ever and have made this 3 times now.

    Thanks!

  52. 52
    Kyle Says:

    awesome!

  53. 53
    Diane Says:

    Hi,
    Broccali is one of the few vegetables that my youngest son will eat – he likes it covered with cheese sauce. Needless to say we eat it a lot. I’ve never roasted it before, but I’m going to try this. Thanks,
    Diane

  54. […] been wanting to roast some cauliflower ever since I wrote about the roasted broccoli. And, after seeing a few creamy cauliflower soup recipes around, I was inspired to try a creamy […]

  55. […] to get all sophisticated with the stuff, you can try making an infused oil version, courtesy of this blogger, who’s dedicated enough to dream about broccoli at the gym. I mean, this gal is […]

  56. […] been wanting to roast some cauliflower ever since I wrote about the roasted broccoli. And, after seeing a few creamy cauliflower soup recipes around, I was inspired to try a creamy […]

  57. […] Me? Why, whatever do you mean? Sure, my sister-in-law Jane sent a link to a roasted broccoli recipe that featured lovely charred stalks of broccoli bathed in garlicky […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment