Creamy Roasted Cauliflower and Artichoke Soup

creamy-cauliflower-and-artichoke-soup.jpg

Well, after all my talk about the warm, sunny days we’ve been having around here, the skies are now gloomy and overcast. It’s still not very cold but the dreary weather makes me crave something warm and comforting. And since my husband won’t be home for a while yet, I settled for some soup.

My original intention was to make the cream of artichoke soup featured on the Castroville Artichoke Festival Web site. I had a bunch of little artichokes in the fridge and I thought it would be an interesting way to use them since I had never tasted artichoke soup. But then I realized that I also had an entire head of cauliflower tucked away that I had been saving for soup.

Hmmmm. Guess what I did?

Of course I ended up throwing everything together and creating a completely different kind of soup.

I’ve been wanting to roast some cauliflower ever since I wrote about the roasted broccoli. And, after seeing a few creamy cauliflower soup recipes around, I was inspired to try a creamy roasted cauliflower soup. But then I read about the creamy artichoke soup and I couldn’t let that idea go either. Yes, I have a thing for creamy soups and, well, creamy things in general. Here’s what I ended up doing:

I boiled my artichokes in water with some lemon juice, bay leaves and peppercorns thrown in.

artichokes-in-pot.jpg

Then I cut them in half and removed the hearts. Instructions for preparing artichokes can be found here.

cut-artichokes.jpg

In the meantime, the cauliflower had been roasting away in the oven.

roasted-cauliflower.jpg

It turns out that Roasted cauliflower and artichoke hearts taste pretty good all blended up together with a little cream, lemon zest and thyme (but really, what doesn’t taste good blended with cream, lemon zest and thyme?).

 

Creamy Roasted Cauliflower and Artichoke Soup

1 head cauliflower
extra virgin olive oil
1 C. artichoke hearts (I cooked my own but you’re welcome to try canned)
2 or 3 cloves garlic, minced
4 C. vegetable stock (or substitute chicken broth or plain water)
1 C. light cream (or half and half, whole milk, or even heavy cream)
zest of one lemon
leaves from a few sprigs of fresh thyme, crushed
salt
fresh ground black pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Wash cauliflower then cut into flowerets.
  3. In a large bowl toss cauliflower with enough olive oil to lightly coat all the pieces then spread them out in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet.
  4. Place cauliflower in a preheated 425 degree oven and roast, turning pieces occasionally until almost tender (between 20-30 minutes)
  5. Remove cauliflower pieces to a bowl with tongs; set aside. There should be some olive oil left on the baking sheet. Very carefully pour the leftover oil into a soup pot or dutch oven.
  6. Add minced garlic to the oil in the pot and sauté over medium heat until just golden.
  7. Add cauliflower, artichoke hearts and vegetable stock to the pot and bring to a boil. Turn heat way down and simmer for a few minutes until cauliflower is fully tender (check with fork).
  8. Remove pot from heat and let cool slightly. Puree the soup until smooth using a food processor, blender, or immersion blender. Return to pot.
  9. Gently reheat soup then add one cup of light cream, zest of one lemon (not juice), crushed thyme, and lots of salt and fresh ground pepper to taste. Soup can be thinned with extra broth or water if desired. Remove from heat when soup is heated through again.
  10. Enjoy!

print this recipe

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by Email

35 Comments »

  1. 1

    I’ve never tried artichioke, come to think of it I’ve never seen one over here! Yesterday I bought butternut and sweet potato. Just wondering what to do with them, now!
    The weather has been very cold, so I’ve been making soups myself. I made a chicken and vegetable soup last night from leftovers. It’s yummy!

  2. 2
    ilva Says:

    What a nice idea to roast the cauliflower first! And the cauliflower-artichoke combination must be a real winner!

  3. It’s always time for thyme! I’ve only steamed whole artichokes, never cooked them this way, I’ll have to try it!

  4. 4
    deb Says:

    What a stunning recipe. Artichoke obsessed (OB-SESSED) myself, I have to make this. A while back, I made a disappointing soup from frozen artichokes and you know, the flavor just doesn’t compare. The extra labor involved in the fresh ones always pays off. Lovely!

  5. I love artichokes just about any way I can get ’em… this sounds good!

  6. 6
    Ruby Berry Says:

    I work in a old section of downtown in Fresno. There was a business across the street from where I work called “Thyme for Tea”. It’s been closed for years, but the sign is still up. Everytime I see the sign, makes me smile, the mention of thyme reminded me of it so I had to share that creative name.
    Nicole, your soup looks absolutely fabulous. I too am artichoke ob-sessed, at that festival in Castroville, I ate it so many ways (think Bubba’s description of shrimp in the movie Forest Gump).
    Sauteed…
    Deep fried…
    etc…
    he-he
    Beautiful pictures of the artichokes Nicole. I would be interested in printing the one with the artichoke and lemon in the pot to frame and put on the wall in my kitchen!
    The soup looks wonderfully tasty!

  7. 7
    sarah Says:

    this sounds wonderful! definitely a recipe to try sometime soon! we’re having yucky weather here, too.

  8. This looks like a winner recipe. I love it, just like your very peaceful pictures.

  9. 9

    Yum! This looks like a recipe I will definitely have to try, especially since I am on a cauliflower kick as of late.

  10. 10
    Nicole Says:

    misslionheart: I think you should make a butternut sweet potato soup and add some hot pepper to make it spicy! 🙂

    ilva: Yes, the roasted cauliflower definitely added a great flavor to the soup and the artichokes and cauliflower complimented each other nicely.

    Lisa: I usually steam them but I boiled them this time just for a change!

    deb: I agree about the extra labor paying off!

    Sandi: Me too! Growing up, we always dipped the leaves in mayo. But I also make a good stuffed artichoke and of course I LOVE artichoke hearts prepared in a million different ways!

    Rubes: Hahaha 🙂 I’ve had artichokes many ways at the festivals here too! They have a special variety they use for sweets here. I actually tasted an artichoke cannoli at the first festival I went to!

    Sarah: Sorry about the weather, hope you enjoy the soup!

    Bea: Thanks so much! Making soup alone is a peaceful activity so I’m glad it came through in the photos!

    Nosheteria: Great! I’ve been on a cauliflower kick my whole life 😉

  11. 11
    Veron Says:

    hmmn, this certainly is a soup that sounds wonderful for the cold weather like we are having now. I like cauliflower puree and cream and I think the addition of artichoke gives it a more complex flavor.

  12. Positively droolworthy!

  13. 13
    Scott Says:

    I questioned the idea of artichokes in soup while waiting for the screen to load from the rss feed… but your write up and especially the photos have done me in! Roasted Cauliflower? looks/sounds great!… One more thing to add to the must make list!

  14. 14

    I’m so hungry now. While I’m glad to have discovered your blog, I’m going to regret it after I go raid the fridge.

    Have to pass some of these recipes on to my parents. I personally will definitely try out the roasted cauliflower thing!

  15. 15
    connie Says:

    i’m glad you decided to go this route! a wonderful combination of ingredients.

  16. 16
    Fer Says:

    I love the combination of the cauliflower and artichokes….aren’t those baby artichokes pretty?! The soup seems so refreshing with the lemon…I am just wondering what it tastes like cold?

  17. 17
    Abby Says:

    Your photos rock! The first one is my fave.

    I eat cauliflower ALL the time. Raw, though. I need to stretch my boundaries a bit. Thanks for the inspiration!

  18. I have been eating a lot of cauliflower lately. I just posted a breaded cauliflower recipe yesterday, and plan to post a cauliflower soup one in the near future. I’ll be sure to link it back to this one.
    I just love artichokes and never thought to pair them with cauliflower. It’s a lovely recipe just like your photo.

  19. 19
    Nicole Says:

    Veron: You’re right, the artichoke added just that little something extra!

    Gluten-Free: Thanks 🙂

    Scott: Yeah, I wasn’t too sure about the artichoke in the soup until it was finished but it was really good!

    Sean: Hope you enjoy the cauliflower and hope to see you back here 🙂

    Connie: Thanks!

    Fer: I tasted it cold but I liked it much better warm! The hint of lemon added a nice flavor but it wasn’t very strong.

    Abby: Thanks! I usually eat cauliflower steamed with melted cheddar on top! I also have a curried cauliflower recipe that I like a lot.

    Susan: I’m headed to your site now to check out the breaded cauliflower recipe!!

  20. 20
    amanda Says:

    mmm! this sounds awesome. you know, i’ve never used the combination of cauliflower and artichoke together before, but it sounds like serious good eats! and that creamy consistancy… ooooooh yeah 🙂

  21. 21

    Nicole,

    This is a fantastic recipe.
    I’ve always been a big fan of cauliflower and artichoke but have never had them together!

    As soon as this hot weather gives us a break here I’ll try this soup.

  22. 22
    Caroline Says:

    Sounds great. Your photos are so gorgeous. Makes me want to stop being so lazy and cook with fresh artichokes!

  23. 23
    madchilli Says:

    This sounds like a wonderful combination. And roasting the cauliflower must add a different flavour dimension. I absolutely love artichokes. It’s not the prettiest of things but behind it’s thorny appearance lies a really wonderful earthy and rustic flavour. Oh, and did I mention I like cauliflower as well? 🙂

  24. 24

    I love roasted cauliflower (and broccoli too). Your artichokes are ridiculously pristine and beautiful! I can never bring myself to buy them fresh in the grocery store because they are already brown and abused. This looks like a perfect soup for a gloomy day.

  25. 25

    Consider it done!

  26. 26
    Tim Says:

    Roasting the caulifower is a seriously clever idea to give it some extra flavour, and you are quite right anything combined with cream, lemon and thyme will taste great!

  27. 27
    Mimi Says:

    I like the idea of roasting the cauliflower first, too. I made cauliflower soup with lime and cumin recently, but I think I like the artichoke approach better.

    Such stunning artichokes — the subtle colors!

  28. 28
    Nicole Says:

    Amanda: Thanks. Yeah, I don’t think it’s a combination that many have tried. It was just one of those things that happened 🙂

    Patricia: Thanks! Hope you enjoy it when some soup weather comes your way!

    Caroline: Thanks for the compliment! Artichokes seem intimidating at first but they’re really not that hard to deal with.

    madchili: I disagree…I think artichokes are beautiful 😉 Thanks for stopping by again!

    Julie O’Hara: Yes, the artichokes here are beautiful! Although even beat up ones will have a tasty heart 🙂

    misslionheart: Let me know what you come up with!

    Tim: Yes, whoever first came up with the idea of roasting vegetables is a genius!

    Mimi: Mmmm…I bet the lime and cumin was good too! That’s one of my favorite combos although I must say I’ve never tried it with cauliflower.

  29. 29

    I made the soup you suggested earlier in your comments, using butternut squash, sweet potato and parsnips (forgot to roast the parsnips for Sunday lunch) A little too sweet for me but my daughter has been bringing it to school this week in her flask! I’ll add ground cumin to the remainder for my lunch tomorrow.

  30. 30
    Adrienne Says:

    This looks delicious. Great photos too. Thanks for sharing!

  31. 31

    Oooh – gorgeous! I’m going to have to make this: two of my favourite ingredients combined! Thanks!
    -sara

  32. […] soups are your key to comfort soup. I was particularly inspired to make a roasted veggie soup from nicole’s recent post about roasted cauliflower soup. mmm. Overall i’d have to say it was a pretty […]

  33. 33
    Amanda P Says:

    Thank you for this recipie, we made it last night! We ended up using canned Artichoke in some marinated liquid, bc we can not get them seasonally in Maine. When we make this next time we will not use marinated Artichokes we will just use them in oil or water. THank you again for giving us this recipie! I love it.

  34. […] soup. … Yes, the roasted cauliflower definitely added a great flavor to the soup and the …https://pinchmysalt.wordpress.com/2007/01/26/creamy-roasted-cauliflower-and-artichoke-soup/Roasted Cauliflower Soup RecipeEasy to make, roasted cauliflower soup is a great French soup recipe […]

  35. […] (from Pinch My Salt) […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment