Grilled Peaches with Blue Cheese and Honey

peaches-with-blue-cheese-for-web.jpg

I stumbled across a crazy site by the name of Steve’s Hot Dogs one afternoon and found this great recipe for grilled peaches. The actual name of the recipe is “The Best Damn Peaches You’ve Never Had…” and now I can say that they come pretty close to the best damn peaches I have had. These peaches were brushed with oil, grilled, filled with crumbled blue cheese and drizzled with honey. Unfortunately I didn’t have the Tupelo honey that was specified in the recipe but the bees in Sicily do a pretty good job.

Even if grilled peaches aren’t your thing, be sure to head over there for some interesting recipes (squirrel stew, for one), Samuel L. Jackson references, and the terrific beverage recommendations that accompany every recipe (“Serve with your favorite Cabernet Sangiovese and have yourself a Champagne Jam like the Atlanta Rhythm Section or with the Atlanta Rhythm Section”).

grilled-peach-for-web.jpg

Once you try these peaches, you’ll probably be hooked on grilling fruit. I love to grill apple rings after they have been brushed with oil and sprinkled with a little cinnamon and sugar. Be creative. Just about anything you put on a grill is going to taste pretty damn good! An interesting article about grilling fruit can be found here.

Subscribe to Pinch My Salt by e-mail

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    Ryan Says:

    man…

    i mean…why must you always post such yummy things precisely when I am hungry and not going to eat soon.

    Damn

  2. 2
    Connie Says:

    oh wow… I love grilled fruits but this takes it all to a NEW LEVEL OF GOODNESS.

  3. 3
    elskermeg Says:

    You’re right Connie! I’ve been meaning to try grilled peaches for a while but as soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it NOW 🙂 My other new favorite fruit on the grill is granny smith apples…core and slice apples into rings (I don’t peel them), brush with a neutral-flavored oil, sprinkle a little cinnamon and sugar and grill on each side for a few minutes. They are so good!

  4. 4
    Steph Says:

    I showed this pic to my co-worker and she was immediately wanting peaches:) In fact she could not look at the site any longer b/c it was making her very hungry. 🙂 Shows the power of your awesome pics and recipes!

  5. […] Now that I’m older, I’ve discovered lots of new ways to eat blue cheese but I still love it on salads and I still like to dip my carrots in it for an afternoon snack. Here’s a dip I made up yesterday just for that purpose. The chives weren’t added unti this morning when I went outside to water my plants and realized I hadn’t used any fresh chives for a while. I think they made the dip 10 times better! […]

  6. 6
    Curt Says:

    Fruit transforms into something incredible when grilled… Peaches are among my favorite, especially when they’re ripe… I grilled some in South Carolina at the peak of their season in July… They met with some questioning looks until people tried them. Peaches and pineapple are my favorites, though most fruit benefits from some high heat over charcoal!

    And again, great photo of the results!

  7. […] that I’m older, I’ve discovered lots of new ways to eat blue cheese but I still love it on salads and I still like to dip my carrots in it for an […]

  8. 8
    bad4shidduchim Says:

    Just for all the other innocents that might stumble on this and think that you can really disguise blue cheese by putting it in grilled peaches…

    The peaches are great. The blue cheese still tastes like disgusting moldy cheese, I’m afraid. I thought this was rather a waste of good peaches.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment